Cinnamon buns

The 4th October is National Cinnamon Bun Day in Sweden, which is obviously cause for celebration! I hadn’t planned on baking any today as I thought we had a big bag from when I last made them in the freezer, however when I checked this morning it turned out there were only two left!! And when hubby then found out what day it was he demanded requested I’d bake more, so I did.Freshly made cinnamon buns

I saw somewhere that these types of buns seem to be served for breakfast in the US. I’m not sure if that’s actually true or if they are maybe just had by busy people who pop in to a coffee shop for some sustenance on their way to work. In Sweden they definitely belong at ‘fika’, be it in the (late) morning or afternoon, but not for breakfast. I would love to hear from any Americans readers what their thoughts are! And other nationalities – when do you enjoy them? Do you enjoy them?!

Cinnamon bun dough proving

I quite like adding a few additional flavours to the buns, particularly cardamom. It’s usually added to the dough, but I tend to forget to add it when making the dough, in which case I add it to the filling instead. Either way is delicious!Cinnamon buns with filling

Another flavour I frequently add is a bit of grated marzipan, just grate it on top of the other filling before rolling or folding the dough. Just don’t add to much as it will end up melting and make the buns all sticky. Lovely as that may sound, less is definitely more here! Cinnamon buns in progress

It’s traditional to decorate the buns with ‘nib’ or ‘pearl’ sugar, which seems to be typically Scandinavian. I’ve never seen any in a shop here in the UK, but I did notice Sarah-Jane using it on her buns last week in the Great British Bake-Off’s ‘Sweet Dough’ episode. Cinnamon buns proving

Thanks to the mighty interweb I discovered it’s still easy to get hold of, particularly from Swedish or Scandinavian online food shops, but also from Amazon. (Is there anything they don’t sell?)  
If you don’t have any at hand, or just want something different, sliced almonds or chopped hazelnuts work just as well, and gives the buns a slightly healthier feel. (Or is that just me?!)

Cinnamon buns fresh out the oven

Cinnamon buns

Dough
1 tbsp cardamom pods
300 ml milk
50 g fresh yeast or 14g (2 sachets) fast action dried yeast
150 ml sugar
0.5 tsp salt
150 g soft butter
1 egg
1.2 liter strong flour

Filling
100 g soft butter
100 ml sugar
1 tbsp cinnamon

Topping
1 beaten egg
Sugar / Flaked Almonds / Chopped hazelnuts

Method
1. Remove the seeds from the pods and grind the cardamom seeds in a pestle and mortar
2. Add the cardamom and milk to a pan and heat until tepid
3. Crumble the yeast into a bowl and dissolve it with the milk, sugar, salt, diced butter and eggs. (If using dried yeast, mix the yeast with the flour and add to the other ingredients in next step)
4. Add a little flour at a time until you have a smooth dough, kneading for about 10 minutes until the dough is smooth and pliable
5. Leave the dough to prove in a warm place, covered with a clean tea towel, until doubled in size, about 45-60 minutes
6. Preheat the oven to 200 degrees
7. Mix the butter, sugar and cinnamon for the filling.
8. Turn the dough out onto a floured surface, roll out into a large thin rectangle, about 5mm. Spread the filling all over the dough
9. Roll it up into a tight roll and slice it into 3 cm thick slices or fold the dough in half lengthways and slice into 2 cm ribbons. Twist the ribbons into a bun
10. Place the slices/buns on a baking tray, cover with a tea towel and leave to prove until doubled in size, about 30-60 mins.
11. Brush the buns with beaten egg and sprinkle with sugar / flaked almonds / chopped hazelnuts.
12. Bake in the middle of the oven for about 10 minutes. Let cool on a rack, then enjoy with a glass of milk.

———-  x ———-

The buns are nicest freshly baked, so freeze any that don’t get eaten right away and you will have fresh buns whenever you fancy one! (Unless you also have a little, or rather big, mouse who raids your freezer!!)

12 thoughts on “Cinnamon buns

  1. They look fab. I love cinnamon buns so I would be worried I would eat all of them in one go!
    I also have seen the sugar used on loads of cookery programs but was surprised not to see it in the supermarkets, think i’ll have to try Amazon to.

  2. Commercial cinnamon buns are made as separate items, but the ones I grew up eating are made similar to yours and then snuggled all together in an oblong cake pan and baked as a big rectangle. I grew up in a home where my grandmother did a lot of baking for the family. She was born in 1896, so her baking was very traditional American farm food baking. You would break off one or two “cinnamon rolls” as you liked. They had to be carefully baked enough as the middle ones could be gummy if underdone. Sometimes my grandmother would drizzle thin white frosting over the cooled pan of rolls, but that was usually at the holidays. No other spices were used. They were simply filled with brown sugar, cinnamon, melted (salted) butter and sometimes chopped walnuts. They appeared weekly in the pantry – much to everyone’s delight. The ones you make are very pretty and look yummy!

    • Thanks! I’ve never tried making them in a big pan all together like that, but it sounds like a great way of sharing. It must have been great having your grandmother that close doing lots of baking for you growing up 🙂

  3. I brought my pearl sugar back with me from Sweden as I was worried about getting hold of it here. I love that there’s a national Cinnamon Bun day, I wish I’d known.

    I didn’t now you could freeze them – or I didn’t now they froze well, so I had 20 cinnamon buns and despite sharing them with the family, there were quite a few so I do have to admit to eating them for breakfast the next day or two. I simply put them in the microwave for a few seconds before eating. (I’m English)

    • Ah, good forward thinking! Yes, the 4th October is national Cinnamon Bun day , so make a note of it for next year 🙂
      We always used to have them in the freezer when I grew up (think my mum still keeps a permanent stock there) – great for an impromptu fika, but the microwave is a great way of reviving them as well. What were you doing in Sweden by the way?

  4. Never thought of folding the dough and cutting it to slices, but will definitely do that next time as it looks very pretty. And maybe, just maybe, that way you don’t end up eating as much dough as you do with rolling it and then cutting to pieces ü

Leave a Reply

